News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

Faculty, staff receive Nontraditional Student Services CARE recognition

May 5, 2014

EAU CLAIRE — The Nontraditional Student Services office at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire recently honored 23 UW-Eau Claire faculty and staff through the Concern for Adults Returning to Education (CARE) recognition program.

The CARE recognition program provides nontraditional students the opportunity to identify an exceptional UW-Eau Claire faculty or staff member who accepts the unique challenges and qualities that adult students bring to campus.

"We are thrilled to offer a way for nontraditional students to say thank you to faculty and staff who have been particularly welcoming of nontraditional students to campus and who understand their commitments outside of the classroom," said Bonnie Isaacson, nontraditional student adviser. "The CARE recognition honors those dedicated individuals and also brings awareness to others of challenges and barriers that many returning adult students encounter as they return to higher education."

Students were asked how their nominee was helpful to them; how the nominee accommodated any unique needs that nontraditional students may have; and how the nominee made them feel appreciated and welcome in the classroom.

Following are the spring 2014 CARE nominees, each of whom received a letter of thanks and a certificate of appreciation:

  • Dr. Patrick Day, professor of foreign languages
  • Jeff DeGrave, lecturer of geography
  • Emily Elsner Twesme, associate lecturer of business communication
  • Dr. Daniel Herman, assistant professor of biology
  • Kate Hinnant, assistant professor of English
  • Dr. Jerry Hoepner, assistant professor of communication sciences and disorders
  • Debra Hofmann, assistant professor of nursing
  • B.J. Hollars, assistant professor of English
  • Bonnie Isaacson, nontraditional student adviser
  • Dr. Rosemary Jadack, professor and chair of nursing
  • Dr. Otrude Moyo, associate professor of social work and women's study affiliate
  • Dr. Leah Olson-McBride, assistant professor of social work
  • Dr. Joel Pace, professor of English
  • DeeAnne Peterson, associate lecturer of accounting
  • Dr. Jill Prushiek, interim associate dean, College of Education and Human Sciences
  • Tom Sather, assistant professor of communication sciences and disorders
  • Melissa Semingson, financial aid counselor
  • Lorraine Smith, assistant to the dean, College of Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Dr. Marie Stadler, associate professor of communication sciences and disorders
  • Vicky Thomas, director of Services for Students with Disabilities
  • Dr. Michael Weil, professor of biology and associate dean, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Tiffany Weiss, adviser and career development specialist, Center for Advising, Development and Enrichment
  • All faculty and staff of Bachelor of Science and Nursing Completion Program

For more information about the CARE recognition program, contact Bonnie Isaacson at 715-836-3259 or




Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.