News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

Juried Student Art Show winners and scholarships announced

April 11, 2014

EAU CLAIRE — Winners of the 57th annual Juried Student Art Show at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire have been announced.

The show will be on display through April 24 in the Foster Gallery of the Haas Fine Arts Center. This year's juror was nationally recognized artist Margaret Boozer.

Pheng Vang, Eau Claire, earned first place for his wood sculpture titled "Escalation." Second place went to Betsy Olaussen, Mound, Minn., for "Suspension of Consciousness," a photo installation; and third went to Ryan Kann, Rice Lake, for his digital photo titled "Underwear."

Honorable mentions went to Dustin Schipper, Holmen, for "Solar Guide," digital mixed media; Dalan Hartmann, Prentice, for "Landscape Box," an acrylic painting on wood blocks; Serena Wagner, Eau Claire, for "In Memoriam," an artist's book; Claire Madden, Hudson, for her photo "In the Midst"; Abbey Berg, River Falls, for "Pleasure," a steel and leather piece; and Kelsey Kinderman, Barnes, for her sculpture titled "Stump."

Following are the scholarship names and their recipients: Gretchen Grimm Art Education Scholarship: Dalan Hartman, Prentice, Pheng Vang, Eau Claire, and Madeline Rozeske, Eau Claire; Josette T. Migawa Arts Education Scholarship: Rachel Schmidt, Hugo, Minn.; Tom Grewe Fine Arts Scholarship: Veronica Ware, Bristol; Randolph Koelsch Art Scholarship: Abbey Berg, River Falls, and Matt Zuelke, Stratford; Patrick Danen Memorial Scholarship: Taylor Price, Mondovi; Edward S. Fish Art Scholarship: Michael Gehrke, Eau Claire; Ruth Foster Scholarship: Christina Doffing, Burnsville, Minn.; Klinger Art Scholarship: Mikael Gehrke, Eau Claire; Edward Haugen "Ted" Leslie Memorial Scholarship: Daniella Painter, Neillsville; Charles and Ann Campbell Art Scholarship: Cheryl Peick, Maplewood, Minn.; Andrea Cecchini Memorial Art Scholarship: Michelle Gervais, Athens; Herbert Friend Art and Design Scholarship: Julie Amble, St. Paul, Minn.; Sigrid Rasmussen Memorial Art Scholarship: Samantha Nelson, Fond du Lac; and Gerald W. Newton Art Scholarship: Michael Gehrke, Eau Claire, Abbey Berg, River Falls, and Michelle Gervais, Athens.

Foster Gallery hours are 10 a.m.-4:30 p.m. weekdays, 6-8 p.m. Thursdays and 1-4:30 p.m. weekends.

For more information, contact Tom Wagener, Foster Gallery director, at




Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.