News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

Journalism students win state broadcasting awards

April 10, 2014

EAU CLAIRE — A number of University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students recently received 2014 Student Awards for Excellence from the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association.

UW-Eau Claire placed third in the television newscast category for its show "Update News." Student staff members — all senior journalism majors — recognized for the show were Hannah Critchfield, Mondovi; Chelsea Emory, Eau Claire; Adam Ganske, Chetek; Kelsie McMahon, Andover, Minn.; Mackenzie Miller, Eau Claire; Rachel Minske, Northfield, Minn.; Ginna Roe, Hudson; Jessica Sharpee, Waukesha; and Slade Tranel, Platteville. Jack Kapfer, associate professor of communication and journalism, serves as the "Update News" faculty adviser.

Roe and Critchfield placed third in the television new series/documentary category for the story "Human Trafficking Hits Close to Home."

Roe placed second in the television news story category for the story "Social Media in Eau Claire Schools."

Sharpee placed third in the radio sports programming, non-play-by-play category, for the story "Badger Hockey."

Since 1951 the WBA has been the only trade association that supports, promotes and represents all radio and television broadcasters in Wisconsin.

For more information, contact Jack Kapfer at 715-836-2300. For more information about the awards, call WBA at 608-255-2600 or visit their website.




Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.