News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

Communication and journalism students receive Greater Milwaukee Foundation scholarships

December 19, 2013

GMFLogoEAU CLAIRE — Two University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students have been awarded 2013-14 Greater Milwaukee Foundation Walter Jay and Clara Charlotte Damm Fund scholarships.

Senior Marissa Jones, Wauwatosa, received a $2,000 scholarship. She is an organizational communication major and sociology minor. Senior Hannah Critchfield, Mondovi, received a $1,350 scholarship. She is a journalism major and Spanish minor.

The scholarship funds for tuition and fees are awarded to full-time continuing students pursuing careers in radio, television or other news and entertainment communication media. The primary criteria for selection were financial need and academic ability. Preference is given to students who have a current relationship with Journal Communications Inc. or one of its subsidiaries.

The Greater Milwaukee Foundation is a family of more than 1,000 charitable funds, each created by donors, to serve the local charitable causes of their choice. Grants from funds serve people throughout Milwaukee, Waukesha, Ozaukee and Washington counties and beyond. Started in 1915, the Greater Milwaukee Foundation is one of the oldest and largest community foundations in the world.



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.