News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

Scholarship recipients recognized at CERCA event

May 20, 2013
From left: Dr. Matt Jewell; Kell Container Corp. Scholarship recipient Max Dylla; and Interim Chancellor Gilles Bousquet.

Goldwater Scholarship recipient Thomas Nevins

EAU CLAIRE — The Office of Research and Sponsored Programs at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire awarded a number of student scholarships at the Celebration of Excellence in Research and Creative Activity reception May 2 in Davies Center.

The reception and scholarship announcements were the culmination of this year's CERCA event, which brought several activities under one umbrella, including English Fest, History Graduate Student Association Symposium, Women's Studies Research Award and capstone projects, and Provost's Honors Symposium. In total, 678 students presented their faculty-mentored research as well as scholarly and creative projects.

The Kell Container Corp. Scholarship for 2013-14 was awarded to junior Max Dylla, Rochester, Minn., a materials science major. Dylla will work with Dr. Matt Jewell of the Materials Science Center faculty on a project titled "Fracture Statistics of Individual Nb3Sn Filaments." The scholarship was created and is endowed through the Kell Container Corp. of Chippewa Falls to support a junior or senior who demonstrates outstanding ability in undergraduate research in collaboration with a faculty member. The award includes a $2,500 scholarship as well as supplemental funds for a student stipend, supplies and travel. The faculty mentor also receives a $2,300 stipend during the project period.

Two students also received Kell Container Corp. Scholarship honorable mention awards. The honorable mentions are a new practice this year and reflect the overall high quality of the applicants and projects. Junior Phillip Schladweiler, Eau Claire, an art-photography and mass communication-public relations major, was recognized for his work with Jyl Kelly, assistant professor of photography, on the project "The Shrapnel Series — A Photographic and Literary Record of Combat Metal."

Junior Ashley Sexton, Plymouth, Minn., a biochemistry and molecular biology major, was honored for her work with Dr. Stephen Drucker, professor of the chemistry, on the project "Spectroscopic Studies of Cyclohexenone in its Excited Electronic States." Those receiving honorable mentions will be provided student project support through the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs.

Junior Thomas Nevins, a physics major from Chippewa Falls, received the Goldwater Scholarship, one of only eight awarded in Wisconsin. Students who receive Goldwater scholarships must have strong academic qualifications, in-depth research experience and a commitment to a career in science. During his scholarship year, Nevins will continue current work with Dr. Paul Thomas, professor of physics, on the development of a computer model relating to how satellite debris orbiting earth behaves upon collision, with the ultimate goal of being able to recover satellite parts. The scholarship covers the cost of undergraduate tuition, fees, and room and board up to $7,500 for one or two years. See related news release.

"Of 2011-12 graduates, 37 percent conducted a significant, in-depth research project with a faculty mentor while an undergraduate at UW-Eau Claire," noted Dr. Karen Havholm, assistant vice chancellor for research. "This reflects a significant level of student engagement in this high-impact practice, which helps distinguish students as they enter the job market or pursue graduate education. The dedicated faculty at UW-Eau Claire play a critical role in making this level of student participation possible."

The CERCA event was sponsored by the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs. For more information, email or call 715-836-3405.



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.