News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

Computer science students win awards at regional conference

May 2, 2013

EAU CLAIRE — Several University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire computer science students won awards at the Midwest Instruction and Computing Symposium April 19-20 at UW-La Crosse.

Senior Isaac Schemm, Eau Claire; junior Zachary Forster, Stevens Point; junior David Spiegel, Chippewa Falls; senior Matthew Wisby, West Bend, and faculty mentors Dr. Joline Morrison and Dr. Mike Morrison, professors in the computer science department, won first place for Best Undergraduate Paper for "Evaluation Code Reuse When Porting a Desktop Application to the Web."

Schemm, Forster and senior Jeff Westphal, Wisconsin Dells, also won first place in the Symposium's programming contest. They competed against 46 other teams.

Senior Nicholas Jaeger, Oconomowoc, and faculty mentor Dr. Peter Bui, assistant professor of computer science, won third place for Best Undergraduate Paper for "To the Cloud and Back: A Distributed Photo Processing Pipeline."

The conference showcases undergraduate and graduate student research in computing and technology and gives students the opportunity to participate in programming and robotics competitions.



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.