News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

'A Midsummer Night's Dream' to open April 18

April 11, 2013

MidsummerEAU CLAIRE — The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire music and theatre arts department will present William Shakespeare's "A Midsummer Night's Dream" at 7:30 p.m. April 18-20 and April 24-27, and at 1:30 p.m. April 28 in Riverside Theatre of the Haas Fine Arts Center.

"A Midsummer Night's Dream" is one of Shakespeare's most popular comedies. The story depicts the misadventures of two pairs of lovers, the feuding king and queen of the fairies and an inept troupe of amateur actors. The UW-Eau Claire production combines a postmodern, steam-punk costume design with innovative staging devices to tell this classic tale in a new way.

The production is directed by F. Reed Brown, assistant professor of the theatre arts.

"Shakespeare's challenge of what is real versus what is only dreamed emerges throughout 'A Midsummer Night's Dream,'" Brown said. "It serves to challenge the audience's notions about reality and imagination."

Cast members are senior Abbey Lowenstein, La Crosse, as Helena; senior Claire Kafka Duda, Rolla, Mo., as Hermia; senior Nate Plummer, Chippewa Falls, as Demetrius; senior JT Stocks, McFarland, as Lysander; senior Jake Brockmann, Merrill, as Theseus; senior Katie Gerarden, De Pere, as Hippolyta; junior Aaron Suggs, Brown Deer, as Egeus; sophomore Sean Porten, Medford, as Philostrate; senior Jared Beebe, Platteville, as Puck; senior Nicolai Ketelsen, Tomah, as Oberon; senior Marie Gustafson, Wausau, as Titania; senior Natalie Leighton, Viroqua, as Cobweb; senior Koryna Flores, Prairie du Sac, as Emberweed; senior Karilyn Sisko, Elkhorn, as Moth; senior Katie Gaulke, St. Louis Park, Minn., as Mustardseed; community member Rachael Bejin as Peaseblossom; senior Michael Renner, Waukesha, as Bottom; senior Drew Gohman, New Brighton, Minn, as Quince; freshman Mason Sheehy, Ladysmith, as Flute; post baccalaureate student Isaac Bont, St. Croix Falls, as Snout; senior Sam Sirianni, St. Paul, Minn., as Snug; guest artist Terrence Kam as Tinker; freshman Denise Bustamante, Eau Claire, and freshman Sara Hudis, Stillwater, Minn., as Attendants.

Senior Michael Van Hemert, Whitehall, is the assistant director; senior Katy Heironimus, Woodbury, Minn., is the stage manager; and senior Logan Toftness, River Falls, and sophomore Michael Schermann, Blaine, Minn., are the assistant stage managers. Kevin Gawley, assistant professor of theatre arts, is the scenic and lighting designer; Amanda Profaizer, assistant professor of dance, is the costume designer; and James Zwicky, assistant professor of theatre arts, is the technical director.

Tickets, available at the Service Center, are $12 for the general public, $10 for those 62 and older and UW-Eau Claire faculty/staff, $8 for those 17 and younger and $4.50 for UW-Eau Claire students with a student ID. For more ticket information, call the Service Center at 715-836-3727 or visit the Service Center website to order tickets online.



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.