News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

UW-Eau Claire graduate receives national journalism award

October 25, 2012

Breann Schossow
(Photo by Dean Kallenbach, WPR)

EAU CLAIRE — Breann Schossow, a 2012 graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire recently received the Julie Galvan Outstanding Graduate in Journalism Award from the Society of Professional Journalists.

The professional journalism organization honored Schossow, of Houston, Minn., for her character, community service, proficiency in practical journalism and her contributions to SPJ's UW-Eau Claire chapter.

"My involvement in SPJ since (joining in college) has only enhanced my future and opened doors to experiences that I greatly value and that have helped me improve as a journalist," Schossow said. "I continue to be a member of the organization."

Schossow served as president of the UW-Eau Claire SPJ chapter for two years during her time at the university. In addition, she served as managing editor and editor-in-chief at The Spectator, the weekly campus newspaper and was a senior producer for Wisconsin Public Radio's WUEC-FM. She also worked as a part-time reporter for the Eau Claire Leader Telegram as a student.

In May Schossow received a bachelor's degree in journalism with a topical minor in convergent media and a minor in political science. She currently is an intern on the national desk of National Public Radio in Washington, D.C.

"My main goal for my career is to always report the news in a way that informs and enriches people's lives and helps them make decisions," Schossow said. "Once (my NPR internship) is completed, my goal is to continue to work in public media somewhere in the world."

The award recognizes one graduate in journalism at the close of the academic year on the basis of character, community service, scholarship, proficiency in practical journalism and significant contributions to his or her SPJ chapter. It is named in memory of Julie Galvan, a former president of the SPJ San Jose State University chapter, who was killed in a car accident on her way to an internship with The Washington Post in 1996.

Previous recipients from UW-Eau Claire were Megan Peterson in 2009 and Jenny You in 2010.

Schossow received the award at the SPJ Excellence in Journalism conference Sept. 21 in Florida.



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.