News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

'Our Town' opens Oct. 18 at UW-Eau Claire

October 15, 2012

OurTownPoster_smallEAU CLAIRE — The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire music and theatre arts department will present Thornton Wilder's Pulitzer Prize-winning play "Our Town" at 7:30 p.m. Oct. 18-20 and Oct. 24-27, and at 1:30 p.m. Oct. 28 in Riverside Theatre of the Haas Fine Arts Center.

"Our Town" was described by American playwright Edward Albee as "the greatest American play ever written." Written in 1938, it was an immediate success and would become the most produced play of the last century.

The story follows the small town of Grover's Corners through three acts: "Daily Life," "Love and Marriage" and "Death and Eternity." Narrated by a stage manager and performed with minimal props and sets, audiences follow the Webb and Gibbs families as their children fall in love, marry and eventually — in one of the most famous scenes in American theater — die.

The production is directed by Richard Nimke, associate professor of theatre arts and coordinator of the theatre arts division.

Cast members for "Our Town" are junior Jared Beebe, Platteville, as the stage manager; senior Michael Renner, Waukesha, as Dr. Gibbs; freshman Jake Pritchard, Chippewa Falls, as Joe Crowell; sophomore Caitlyn Olson, Wisconsin Rapids, as Mrs. Gibbs; senior Abbey Lowenstein, La Crosse, as Mrs. Webb; senior Nate Plummer, Chippewa Falls, as George Gibbs; sophomore Molly Wilson, Beloit, as Rebecca Gibbs; freshman Sean Porten, Medford, as Wally Webb; Kate Gaulke, St. Louis Park, Minn., as Emily Webb; senior Drew Gohman, New Brighton, Minn., as Mr. Webb; senior Matt Tatone, Golden Valley, Minn., as Simon Stimson; freshman Autumn Ament, Chaska, Minn., as Mrs. Soames; senior Jack Brockmann, Merrill, as Constable Warren; junior Sam Sirianni, Saint Paul, Minn., as Si Crowell; senior Nicolai Ketelsen, Tomah, as Sam Craig; sophomore Seth Hale, Antigo, as Joe Stoddard; and senior Kevin McCarthy, Eau Claire, as Farmer McCarthy.

Other cast members are sophomore Tabitha Tatro, Antigo; junior Sarah Wildes, Racine; freshman Dave Engebretson, Antigo; senior Natalie Leighton, Viroqua; and sophomore Paul Matthews, Wauwatosa.

Senior Marissa Aprill, Seymour, is the production stage manager; Kevin D. Gawley, associate professor of theatre, is the scenic, projection and lighting director; Amanda Profaizer, assistant professor of theatre, is the costume and makeup designer; James Zwicky, assistant professor of theatre, is the technical director; and senior Karilyn Sisko, Elkhorn, is the props coordinator.

Tickets, available online and at the University Service Center, 715-836-3727 or 800-949-UWEC, are $12 for the general public; $10 for those 62 and older, and faculty and staff with a university ID, $8 for children 17 and younger; and $5 for students with a university ID.

For more information, contact Pete Rydberg at 608-843-1282 or



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.