News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news release

 SHARE   |  

Society of Professional Journalists members honored at Midwest Journalism Conference

May 2, 2012

EAU CLAIRE — Three University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students who are members of the Society of Professional Journalists were honored this spring at the Midwest Journalism Conference in Bloomington, Minn.

Amanda Tyler, Neillsville, a senior broadcast journalism major, placed first in the television feature reporting category.

Megan Roltgen, Mount Calvary, a senior broadcast journalism major, worked on a radio package with Lacey Weninger, Slinger, a senior print journalism major. Their project placed first in radio news reporting.

UW-Eau Claire's student newspaper, The Spectator, was awarded second place in overall excellence in the best all-around non-daily student newspaper category.

"It was a big honor to be recognized for my achievements as a journalism student by the Society of Professional Journalists," Tyler said. "I believe it is a true reflection of the great broadcast journalism curriculum that we have at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire."

UW-Eau Claire students competed against students from Wisconsin, North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa and Nebraska. The Midwest Journalism Conference is the second largest regional journalism conference in the United States.

For more information about the Society of Professional Journalists or the Midwest Journalism Conference, contact Breann Schossow at


Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.