News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news release

 SHARE   |  

Juried Student Art Show winners, scholarship recipients announced

April 17, 2012

EAU CLAIRE — The winners of the 55th annual Juried Student Art Show at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire have been announced.

Senior Jamie Nelson, Edina, Minn., won first place for a video installation titled "Rip Lip." Senior Laura Kelleher, Woodbury, Minn., won second place for "Attraction," a mixed media piece. Third place went to senior Daniel Smith, Golden Valley, Minn., for "Whitman," which included video and documents.

Honorable mentions went to senior Megan Byron, Blaine, Minn.; senior Rachel Gasque, Stevens Point; senior Mathias Hughey, Lodi; junior Catelyn Mailloux, St. Cloud, Minn.; and junior Alex Olson, Devils Lake, N.D.

This year 178 works were submitted by UW-Eau Claire students. Seventy-five works by 54 students were accepted into the exhibit. The juror for the show was Libby Rowe, assistant professor of art photography at The University of Texas at San Antonio.

Scholarship recipients and their scholarships include freshman Amy Greathead, Sun Prairie, Charles and Ann Campbell Art Scholarship; junior Emily Haugestuen, Barron, Andrea Cecchini Memorial Art Scholarship; sophomore Angela Koch, Reedsville, James H. Christofferson Scholarship; junior Brandon Jenness, Eau Claire, Patrick Danen Scholarship; senior Aubre Walther, Eau Claire, Edward Fish Scholarship; senior Courtney Benson, Mantorville, Minn., Ruth Foster Scholarship; junior Kelsey Temanson, Stratford, Herbert Friend Art and Design Scholarship; senior Gayle Heit, Arkansaw, Tom Grewe Scholarship; junior Catelyn Mailloux, St. Cloud, Minn., Gretchen Grimm Art Education Scholarship; senior Daniel Smith, Golden Valley, Minn., Klinger Art Scholarship; senior Rebecca Farrow, Germantown, and senior Kelly Pettis, Eau Claire, Randolph Koelsch Art Scholarship; junior Christine Manwiller, Turtle Lake, Edward Haugen "Ted" Leslie Memorial Art Scholarship; senior Megan Byron, Blaine, Minn., Josette T. Migawa Arts Education Scholarship; and senior Alison Wheeler, Viroqua, and junior Jason Anhorn, Eau Claire, Gerald W. Newton Art Scholarship.

The Juried Student Art Show began April 5 and runs through April 22. Foster Gallery hours are 10 a.m.-4:30 p.m. weekdays, 6-8 p.m. Thursdays and 1-4:30 p.m. weekends.



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.