News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news release

 SHARE   |  

UW-Eau Claire Sigma Tau Delta members present displays, win scholarships

April 3, 2012

EAU CLAIRE — The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire's Theta Zeta chapter was among the more than 200 chapters of Sigma Tau Delta at the Sigma Tau Delta International Convention in New Orleans, La., last month.

Theta Zeta received a special invitation to present a chapter display at the international honor society's annual event — an invitation extended to a select few chapters recognized by the Sigma Tau Delta as outstanding chapters. The Theta Zeta chapter from UW-Eau Claire also had one of the largest groups in the nation accepted for presentation at the convention: nine critical papers and creative works. In addition, students presented at roundtable discussions and chaired several sessions.

At the convention, Sigma Tau Delta announced the recipients of scholarships, with UW-Eau Claire students taking home $8,000 in scholarship award monies.

Individual results are as follows:

  • Kristin Chang, Plover, received the $4,000 Senior Scholarship from Sigma Tau Delta.
  • Melissa Miller, Wisconsin Rapids, and Amanda Hendricks, De Pere, each received the $2,000 P.C. Sommerville Award for future teachers. Only two of these awards are given each year; both went to students from UW-Eau Claire this year.

Traci Thomas-Card, lecturer of English, conducted a chapter sponsor workshop titled "Reawakening Our Roles as Chapter Sponsors." The workshop received outstanding evaluations for facilitating cross-chapter events and sponsor networking. Thomas-Card also moderated two sessions of creative and critical works.

The following UW-Eau Claire students gave presentations, volunteered or assisted at the convention: English major Autumn Wilson, Poynette; psychology major Amanda Lonsdorf, Chippewa Falls; Spanish and English major Kristin Chang, Plover; English major Meredith Molnar, Sun Prairie; English major Mariah Molnar, Sun Prairie; English education major Melissa Miller, Wisconsin Rapids; English major Greta Schultz, Brookfield; pre-professional law major Caitlin Bittner, Prairie du Chien; English major Michael Thies, Schofield; journalism major Catherine Wanzer, Menomonee Falls; global studies major Emily Spanjers-Trudeau, Forest Lake, Minn.; and communication sciences and disorders major Sarah Schrupp, Winona, Minn.

"We are extremely proud of the leadership our students showed," said Thomas-Card. "We heard many compliments about our students."

Spanish and business major Ashlyn Wells, Nelson and Mondovi, has served the past year as the Midwestern student representative for Sigma Tau Delta. She was one of six student representatives nationwide. In this role, she helped lead student leadership workshops, trained incoming student representatives, attended committee and board meetings, and assisted the guest speakers at the convention.

UW-Eau Claire's Theta Zeta was acknowledged as one of the chapters that contributed the most to the convention overall. The chapter received a plaque acknowledging its 55th anniversary as an active Sigma Tau Delta chapter.

For more information about the convention or the international honor society Sigma Tau Delta, contact Traci Thomas-Card at 715-836-2323 or



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.