print header

Thirty-one teams representing sixteen area high schools partook in the 30th Annual Regional Mathematics Meet for high school students on Saturday, February 18, 2012. Schools represented were: Aquinas, Augusta, Black River Falls, Chippewa Falls, Durand, Ellsworth, Lake Holcombe, McDonell, Memorial, North, Owen-Withee, Regis, Spencer, Stanley-Boyd, Viroqua, and West Salem. Below are the winning teams and individuals. If you would like more information about this event, contact the Mathematics Department at the University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire.

Team Awards

1st Place

Class AAA AlgeBros
Team AlgeBros from Chippewa Falls took first place in the large school division, AAA.  The team, sponsored by Adam Coolidge, consisted of three pairs of brothers; Jasper and David Arneberg, Jameson and Joseph Krause, and Kyle and Brian Crocker.
Class AA Panther
The Panthers Power Team from West Salem took first place in the medium school division, AA.  The team, sponsored by Chris Milne, included Michael Uebele, Christian Schran, Jennifer Kelley, Alexandra Lewis, Mikaela Hunter, and Chris Stockus.  
Class A Binary Sudokus
The Binary Sudokus from Regis took first place in the small school division, A. The team, sponsored by Sam Jackson, included Liang Xu, Rachel Liming, Yiduo Ciu, Jake Larsen, Heesoo Lim, and Yicheng Zhou.


2nd Place

Class AAA Chi-Hi Pi
The Chi-Hi Pi Guys from Chippewa Falls took second place in Class AAA.  Jeff Keding was the team sponsor with  Stephan Hall, Mitchell Ritzinger, Austin Birch, Austin Thielen, Jeremy Facklam, and Mitchell Iverson the team members.
Class AA Viroqua
The Viroqua Team I took second place in Class AA.  John Lendosky was the sponsor with Rachel Feltes, Justin Houtler, Elizabeth Primmer, Chang Chen, and Tiffany Voss the team members.
Class A Binary High Fives
The Binary High Fives from Regis took second place in A.  Bryant Brenner was the team’s sponsor with Alex Bates, Theresa Kim, Mira Won, Soohan Kim, Deng Lin, and Menghan Sun the team members.


Individual Awards

1st Place

Class AAA
Jasper Arneberg
Jasper Arneberg of Chippewa Falls took first place in individual events within Class AAA and was offered a UW-Eau Claire scholarship for 4-credit hours. 
Class AA
Christian Schran
Christian Schran from West Salem High School took first place in individual events within Class AA and was offered a 4-credit hour UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
Class A
 Liang Xu
A 4-credit hour UW-Eau Claire scholarship in the individual awards for small schools division A was earned by Liang Xu of Regis High School.  


2nd Place

Class AAA
Lucy Wang
Lucy Wang of Eau Claire Memorial, a division AAA school, earned second place and was offered a 3-credit hour UW-Eau Claire scholarship.

Class AA

Justin Rachel
In division AA, there was a tie between Rachel Feltes and Justin Houtler, both from Viroqua High School. Each were offered 3-credit hour scholarships.
Class A
Alex Bates
Alex Bates, a student from Regis, received a 3-credit hour scholarship and second place in division A


3rd Place

Class AAA
 Brady Skifstad
Representing North High School in division AAA ,Brady Skifstad received third place and a 2-credit hour scholarship.
Class A
Ryan Hannan
In division A, Ryan Hannan from Spencer High School received a 2-credit hour scholarship to UWEC and third..


4th Place

Class AAA
Jacob Nesbit
Receiving a 1-credit hour UW-Eau Claire scholarship offer in division AAA was Jacob Nesbit from Chippewa Falls High School.
Class AA
Kelly Kroner
Receiving a 1-credit hour UW-Eau Claire scholarship and placing fourth in division AA was Kelly Kroner from Aquinas High School.
Class A
Heesoo Lim
Representing Regis High School, Heesoo Lim received fourth place and 1-credit hour scholarship in division A.


5th Place

Class AAA

Jeremy Facklam
Jeremy Facklam from Chippewa Falls High Schoolwas honored for placing fifth.

Class AA
Chris Stockus
Chris Stockus from West Salem High School was recognized for fifth place.
Class A
Yacheng Zhou   John Polus
Sooham Kim

Yachang Zhou from Regis High School, John Polus from McDonell High School, and Sooham Kim from Regis High School were recognized as tying for fifth place.


6th Place

Class AAA
Katie CableColton Schlosser

Katie Cable and Colton Schlosser, both from North High School, were recognized as receiving sixth.
Class AA Tiffany Voss

Tiffany Voss from Viroqua High School was recognized as receiving sixth.

Scholarships, valued at over $333 per credit, are funded by a grant from Xcel Energy to the UW-Eau Claire Department of Mathematics.
A CD of all the photos captured during the event will be mailed to each school.
Page: < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 >