print header

Scholarships for UWEC Geology Majors

Through the generosity of outstanding UWEC alumni, several scholarships are now available for geology majors at UWEC. 

Please see the UW-Eau Claire Foundation website for more information about the individual scholarships listed below: UW-Foundation Scholarships

Unimin Freshman Geology Scholarships ($1,000)

Five $1000 Unimin Freshman Geology Scholarships available for incoming freshmen – application deadline 2/1/15 (PDF)

Beckstrom Geology Major ($1,000)

(formerly Golder Associates Geology Scholarship)

The Beckstrom Geology Major Scholarship was established in 2005 by Gregory Beckstrom (BS'84) of Minneapolis, MN.  Gregory, a geology graduate, worked for more than 20 years for Golder Associates, a premier global group of engineering and environmental consulting companies.  In 2013, Greg joined AMEC Environment & Infrastructure- Americas as vice president and upper Midwest area manager. Applicants must be comprehensive geology majors at UW-Eau Claire with an outstanding academic record and demonstrated financial need. Academic accomplishments will be the major criterion for selection, but recipients must also demonstrate financial need. In addition, leadership and participation in extracurricular activities will be considered. Click on the Beckstrom Geology link for more information.

Past winners include:

2014-2015 Mitchell Lassa
2013-2014 Andrea Holm
2012-2013 Aleisha Johnson
2011-2012 Cameron Hughes
2010-2011 Olivia Iverson
2008-2010 Audrey Mohr
 2008-2009 Julia Potter
2007-2008 Anna Baker
2007-2008 Elizabeth Balgord
2006-2007 David Kawatski

Myers/Willis Field Camp Scholarship ($500) 

This scholarship honors Drs. Paul Myers and Ronald Willis, emeriti professors in the UW-Eau Claire Geology Department.  Paul and Ron were instrumental in establishing geology field camp experiences in the western United States.  These field camps cemented our reputation as a field-based, hands-on geology department.  Departmental faculty will select the top students from Geology 470 (Field Camp I) who are also enrolled in Geology 471 (Field Camp II) to receive the scholarships.  Recipients receive the scholarships for the summer course.  If additional funding exists, the chair of the Geology Department can award additional scholarships to students with high financial need.  Click on the Myers/Willis Field Camp Scholarship link for more information.

Past winners include:

2013-2014 Steven Brost, Scott Wipperfurth, and Kendra Keon
2012-2013 Aleisha Johnson, Ellen Buelow, and Joel Smith
2011-2012 Rebecca Moore and Marcus Hopkins
2010-2011 Olivia Iverson, Michael Kristoff, Chris Spencer, and Matt Thompson
2009-2010 Jessica Meyers and Sarah Ulrich
2008-2009 Julia Potter and Taylor Crist
2007-2008 Anna Baker and Liz Balgord

Unimin Corp. Freshman Geology Scholarship ($1000) 

This scholarship will be awarded to academically talented and motivated incoming freshmen.  The awards will promote educational opportunities and encourage gifted academic leaders who are interested in majoring in geology.  Students who are majoring in Geology and have a demonstrated aptitude for the physical sciences will be considered for this scholarship.  Candidates must rank in the top 25% of their graduating class or have a GPA of 3.2 or greater.  Preference will be given to candidates who show a strong academic record, involvement in extracurricular activities, and outstanding leadership potential. 

Past winners include:

2014-2015 Kaelyn Blotz, Allison Bolin, and Lucy Horst

Unimin Corp. Sophomore Geology Scholarship ($2500) 

Four scholarships will be awarded to academically talented and motivated comprehensive geology majors who will be taking Geology 312 (Mineralogy and Petrology I) during the fall semester.  The scholarships are intended for students who are the equivalent of rising sophomores in the geology program, but students with other class ranks and transfer students are eligible as well. Recipients must have a declared comprehensive major in Geology, must be enrolled in GEOL 312 (Min-Pet I) in the following fall semester, have a GPA of 3.0 or greater, and have a strong academic record.  Involvement in extracurricular and Department of Geology activities and outstanding leadership potential will be considered assets. 

Past winners include:

2014-2015 Daniel Brennan, Sarah Knutson, Haillie Passow, and Kinzey Stoll

WISA Geology Scholarship ($1,650)

The Wisconsin Industrial Sand Association (WISA) is a statewide organization formed in 2012 to promote safe and environmentally sound sand mining standards, promote evidence-based discussion, and create a positive dialogue among the industry, citizens, and government officials.  WISA has donated $5,000 to fund three scholarships for incoming Mineralogy-Petrology students.   

Past winners include:

2014-2015 Jacob Charneski, Chase Friedemann, and Catherine Karlovich

Several additional scholarships are available for science majors at UWEC:

George and Jeri Rossman Scholarship ($1,000)

Past Geology Department winners include:

2008-2009 Amy Jennifer Raplinger
2007-2008 Lee Adam Behling
2006-2007 Vinay Rao
2005-2006 Damon Campbell
2004-2005 Jessica Lopez

Leoba Hogan Scholarship ($1,500)

Past Geology Department winners include:

2014-2015 Mitchell Lassa
2011-2012 Aleisha Johnson
2009-2010 Giselle Conde
2008-2009 Crystal Nickel
2007-2008 Anna Baker
2004-2005 Lisa Grosvold

Michael F. Friedrich Scholarship ($5,180)

Past Geology Department winners include:

2010-2011 Giselle Conde
2009-2010 Audrey Mohr

Gritzmacher Scholarship ($1,000)

William Lieske Memorial Scholarship ($4,000)

Past Geology Department winners include:

2008-2009 Elizabeth Teutschmann

Jerry & Elizabeth Smith Scholarship ($5,180)

Past Geology Department winners include:

2008-2009 Anna Baker
2006-2007 Joshua Kinsman
2005-2006 Katelin Holm

Additional scholarships are available for undergraduate students across all disciplines at UWEC:

Kell Container Corporation Scholarship
for Faculty/Student Collaborative

Past winners from the Geology Department Include:

2005-2006 James Watkins
2004-2005 Laura Strumness

Ronald McNair Post Baccalaureated Achievement Program
(Two-year program with finanical support for scholarly research)

Past winners from the Geology Department Include:

2012-2014 Aleisha Johnson
2009-2011 Audrey Mohr
2003-2005 Kelly Plathe
1999-2001 Katie Thornburg


Contact the Office of Financial Aid in Schofield 115 (715) 836-3373, for questions concerning financial aid at UWEC.

For scholarships offered at UW-Eau Claire, please see the UW-Eau Claire Foundation Scholarships website or for more specific Earth Science scholarships, please contact Dr. Phillip Ihinger