print header

Outstanding Women of Color in Education Award

The UW System Outstanding Women of Color in Education Awards are organized and supported annually by the UW System Women's Studies Consortium and Office of Academic Diversity and Development.  The awards and recognition ceremony was initiated in 1994 to acknowledge the ties and shared concerns among administrators, faculty, staff, and students within women's studies and ethnic studies, and to uphold a continuing commitment to Plan 2008: Educational Quality through Racial and Ethnic Diversity (work that is continued through Inclusive Excellence efforts across the UW System).  At the annual awards ceremony and luncheon, award recipients receive well-earned acknowledgement by both the UW System and their home campus community. 

Each year, the Chancellor selects a woman of color who has made outstanding contributions to the UW Eau Claire community to be honored at the Annual State of Wisconsin Women's Studies Conference.
Please assist the Chancellor in the selection process by nominating an outstanding woman of color for our 2014 Woman of Color Honoree.  Nominees may be UW-Eau Claire faculty, staff, students, or community members, and the selection criteria are as follows:
  • Women of color who have worked in the areas of women's studies scholarship and activism, especially as they have served to improve the status and climate for women, particularly women of color.
  • Women of color who have advocated for women, particularly women of color.
  • Women of color who have consistently demonstrated their ability to rally diverse forces together to advance the agenda of women, particularly that of women of color.
  • Women of color who have created positive changes at our institution, i.e., curriculum development and infusion, receiving grants, and mentoring women.
  • Women of color who have demonstrated an understanding of the interplay of family and community and culture in the lives of women of color.

Please submit nominations before January 17, 2014 to the Affirmative Action Office, 217 Schofield Hall. 

If you have questions, please contact Caitlin Lee at or 836-2387.

Past UW-Eau Claire Recipients:

2013 - Catherine Emmanuelle
2012 - Kim Wellnitz
2011 - Deb Barker
2010 - Caitlin Mai Lee
2009 - Nichole Ray