print header
News & Events
 SHARE   |  

April 9, 2013

CHAASE announces scholarships, distinguished service awards at annual banquet

CHAASE Spring Banquet

The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Health Care Administration (HCAD) program and the Center for Health Administration and Aging Services Excellence (CHAASE) announced 2013 scholarship and distinguished service award recipients at the annual spring banquet held Thursday, April 4 at the Ramada Inn in Eau Claire, WI.

Nearly 325 participants attended the annual event which recognizes students, preceptors, alumni and friends of the UW-Eau Claire HCAD program and CHAASE, a partnership of academia, services organizations and professional associations that supports the UW-Eau Claire HCAD program and the health and aging services profession.

Mark ParkinsonThe Honorable Mark Parkinson, president & CEO of the American Health Care Association (AHCA) and National Center for Assisted Living, delivered the keynote address at the 7 pm dinner.

$15,000 in scholarships were presented to UW-Eau Claire HCAD students. Three new scholarships were given this year: a $1,000 scholarship from Benedictine Health Systems and two $1,000 scholarships from Care Providers of Minnesota. See box below for scholarship recipients.

Five senior health care administration students received awards for their applied leadership practicum projects. These students were as follows:

  • Lindsey Gish from Hudson, WI received the 2013 Heyde Health Care Entrepreneurial Award for her project that introduced the use of essential oils to reduce hand contractions and skin infections that are common when contractions occur. Gish provided staff training, obtained resident and family agreement to participate, monitored staff completing hand massages, monitored documentation and progress. All residents in her study saw improved skin integrity and improved range of motion in their fingers and hands.
  • Hannah M. Johnson from Westby, WI received the 2013 Internal or Operational Improvement Award. Johnson’s leadership project examined staff turnover at her practicum site. A significant discovery was that over 50% of newly hired employees left within 6 months of being employed. A mentorship program has been implemented to reduce this number.
  • Hannah L. Johnson from Edgar, WI received the 2013 Innovation Leadership Project Award. Johnson’s project explored the effect of music on residents who experience depression, anxiety, dementia, behaviors and pain. Based on the positive effects of the program, Johnson supervised the completion of the music and memory certification of all staff.
  • Derek Joswiak from Stratford, WI received the 2013 External or Community Award.  Joswiak organized an event to honor local Purple Heart recipients. The event included a WWII display, a gun salute and a missing man formation flyover.  Over 100 people attended the event and 16 veterans received recognition plaques. 
  • Ashley Patterson from Burnsville, MN received the 2013 Customer Service Leadership Project Award for her project which sought to reduce the number of caregivers a resident received.  The idea for Patterson’s project came from a resident who was had expressed a concern that she didn’t know who her caregivers were because so many different people cared for her.  Patterson found that on average a resident could have over 18 different nursing caregivers every month.  Her project, which sought to reduce the number of care givers to 12, exceeded that goal by reducing the number to 10.

Heather Kjelstad, a senior from New Hope, MN, was named the 2013 Distinguished Student. Kjelstad is currently the president of the UW-Eau Claire student chapter of the ACHCA.  She has also help launch an on-campus mentoring program for ACHCA students, and has worked with Dr. Douglas Olson on the 2012 National Emerging Leadership Summit in Washington, DC. Kjelstad will start a practicum with Presbyterian Homes of Bloomington, MN this June.

Dr. Douglas Olson, UW-Eau Claire associate professor of health care administration and director of CHAASE, was the recipient of the 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award.  Olson, a 1984 graduate of the UW-Eau Claire HCAD program, has over twenty years of health care leadership experience, primarily in the field of health and aging services. He has given numerous national and regional presentations and is currently involved in a variety of applied research and consulting efforts focusing on leadership, leadership development, organizational roles and best practices in the health and aging services field. Olson is a member of the American College of Health Care Administrators National Board of Directors.

Allan Swartz, president, Healthcare Productivity Services of White Bear Lake, MN, was the recipient of the 2013 Distinguished Service Award. Swartz, who is a member of the CHAASE Board of Advisers, has been a longtime supporter and advocate of the UW-Eau Claire Health Care Administration program, and he has been instrumental in advancing development and scholarship opportunities for UW-Eau Claire students. He is a fellow of the American College of Heath Care Administrators and a member of the ACHCA National Board of Directors.

Tom Rislow, administrator, Bethany Riverside Lutheran Homes of La Crosse, WI received the Preceptor of the Year Award in recognition for his contribution and leadership as a preceptor of the UW-Eau Claire health care administration program.

To learn more about CHAASE and the UW-Eau Claire Health Care Administration program, visit the CHAASE website at

2013 Health Care Administration Scholarship Recipients

  • Benedictine Health Systems scholarship: Lori Mahan, a senior from Superior, WI
  • Jim and Patty Blum Volunteer scholarship: Evan Weiske, a senior from Berlin, WI
  • Care Providers of Minnesota scholarship: Anna Hanson, a freshman from Peterson, MN
  • Gene Decker scholarship: Heather Kjelstad, a senior from New Hope, MN
  • Extendicare Foundation scholarship: Emily Feiner, a sophomore from Middleton, WI and Carmen Paulson, a freshman from New Richmond, WI
  • Golden Living scholarship: Rachel Forseth, a junior from Fort Atkinson, WI and Eric Andersen, a sophomore from Eau Claire, WI
  • Good Samaritan scholarship: Molly Senske, a senior from Eden Prairie, MN
  • HCR ManorCare scholarship: Katelyn Morrison, a senior from Crivitz, WI
  • Kindred Healthcare scholarship: Marie Zachmann, a senior from Howard Lake, MN
  • LeadingAge Wisconsin scholarship: Nicole Danger, a sophomore from Spooner, WI
  • M3 Insurance scholarship: Amanda Roggenbauer, a junior from Burnett, WI
  • Thomas & Michael Schanke Family Civic Engagement scholarship: Bradley Price, a junior from Chippewa Falls, WI
  • Tri-County Medical Alliance scholarship: Mollie Steingraber, a junior from New London, WI
  • Wisconsin Assisted Living Association scholarship: Dena Gress, a sophomore from Antigo, WI
  • Wisconsin Health Care Association and Wisconsin Center for Assisted Living scholarship: Crystal Frazer, a junior from Chippewa Falls, WI; Jaimee Moran, a junior from Platteville, WI
Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.