print header
News & Events
 SHARE   |  

April 19, 2013

Beta Gamma Sigma to initiate new members; Bednar named Outstanding Professor

Beta Gamma Sigma

Beta Gamma SigmaThirteen College of Business students will be initiated into the UW-Eau Claire chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS), the honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International—The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. The annual initiation will be held Saturday, April 27, 2013 at 3 pm in the Davies Center Alumni Room. The event will be held in conjunction with the university’s Honors Month, a time set aside by the university to recognize students of high scholastic achievement.

The ceremony will be conducted by Dr. Kristy Lauver, associate professor of management and BGS faculty adviser. BGS president Robert Splinter and vice president Reiley Petersen will also assist with the ceremony.

Janice BednarJanice Bednar, Department of Business Communication, will be recognized at the event as Beta Gamma Sigma Outstanding professor.

Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest honor bestowed upon business students at institutions accredited by AACSB International. Students are invited to join the organization by their business school faculty. To be eligible for invitation, undergraduate and graduate students must be in the upper 10 percent of the junior or senior class, or upper 20 percent of their MBA class.

Established in 1913, Beta Gamma Sigma has inducted more than 700,000 students into its membership. Members currently reside in all 50 U.S. states and more than 160 countries around the world. Beta Gamma Sigma has over 500 collegiate chapters at schools accredited by AACSB International. Additionally, 27 alumni chapters serve the needs of alumni members in major metropolitan areas, including Hong Kong.

To learn more about the UW-Eau Claire chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, view its website at

2013 Beta Gamma Sigma Initiates

  • Fatima Abdulla, a senior accounting major from Bahrain
  • Linh T. Dao, a senior finance major from Vietnam
  • Katrina Elgersma, a junior accounting major from Vesper, WI
  • Jacob Hagglund, a junior professional sales marketing major from Neillsville, WI
  • Meghan Hanson, a senior management major from Hudson, WI
  • Lisa Krautkramer, a junior business administration major from Marathon, WI
  • Evan Morris, a junior accounting major from Neenah, WI
  • Amelia Roemer, a junior accounting and finance double major from Evansville, WI
  • Amanda L. Roggenbauer, a junior health care administration major from Burnett, WI
  • Joshua Schmidt, a junior finance major from Fond du Lac, WI
  • Claire Sharood, a MBA student from West Hollywood, CA
  • Solito Sumulong, a MBA student from Eagan, MN
  • Daniel J. Weber, a junior finance and accounting double major from Mequon, WI.
Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.