print header
News & Events
 SHARE   |  
January 24, 2013

UW-Eau Claire accounting and HCAD faculty to receive distinguished paper awards at MBAA Conference

MBAA InternationalThe Midwest Business Administration Association (MBAA) will hold its 49th Annual International Conference at The Drake Hotel in Chicago, February 27–March 1, 2013.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire College of Business faculty and staff are the recipients of two distinguished paper awards. 

Dr. Nan Hu and Dr. Ling Liu, UW-Eau Claire Department of Accounting and Finance, and Dr. Lee J. Yao, Loyola University-New Orleans, are the recipients of the North American Accounting Society’s 2013 MBAA International McGraw-Hill/Irwin Distinguished Paper Award for their paper, CEO Compensation and Accruals Management.”

Dr. Jennifer Johs-Artisensi, Ms. LaNette Flunker and Dr. Douglas Olson, UW-Eau Claire Department of Management and Marketing, are the recipients of the Business and Health Administration Association’s 2013 MBAA International McGraw-Hill/Irwin Distinguished Paper Award for their paper, “Developing Effective Preceptors for Future Health and Aging.”

MBAA consists of twelve formal organizations with over 700 active members. These organizations represent a variety of disciplines, including accounting; case research; economics; finance, real estate, insurance and risk management; health administration; human resources and industrial relations; information systems and quantitative methods; international business; legal studies; management; marketing; and operations management and entrepreneurship.

Since 1999, the annual MBAA International conference has been attended by participants from all 50 states and dozens of other countries. For more information about MBAA, or to learn more about the conference, please visit the MBAA website at

UW-Eau Claire Faculty in Leadership Positions

2012–2013 MBAA Advisory Council

Robert Erffmeyer, Department of Management and Marketing
Rama Yelkur, Department of Management and Marketing

Program Sessions with UW-Eau Claire COB faculty and staff

Wednesday, February 27
Eleventh Annual MMA Master Teaching Competition sponsored by Hormel Foods
Judges include Robert Erffmeyer, UW-Eau Claire

Thursday, February 28
“CEO Compensation and Accruals Management”
Qian Hao, Wilkes University; Nan Hu, UW-Eau Claire; Ling Liu, UW-Eau Claire; Lee J. Yao, Loyola University New Orleans

“Developing Effective Preceptors for Future Health and Aging Service Administrators”
Jennifer Johs-Artisensi, LaNette Flunker, Douglas Olson, UW-Eau Claire

Friday, March 1
Theme: Service Learning and Student Associations
Panelists include D’Arcy Becker, UW-Eau Claire

“Chinese Consumers' Brand Perceptions and Purchasing Intentions: Does Brand of Origin Matter”
Rama Yelkur, UW-Eau Claire; Juan Gloria Meng, Minnesota State University; Zhan-Yi Chen, Dongguan Economy and Information Technology Bureau

Theme: Issues in Consumer Behavior
Chair: Rama Yelkur, UW-Eau Claire

Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.