print header
News & Events
 SHARE   |  
May 23, 2011

Sophomore awarded scholarship from National Phi Eta Sigma

Meghan Joanne-Joy RyanUniversity of Wisconsin-Eau Claire sophomore Meghan Joanne-Joy Ryan, Fond du Lac, has been awarded a $6,000 Undergraduate Scholarship Award for the 2011-12 academic year from the Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society.

The accounting major was initiated into the UW-Eau Claire chapter in 2010 and will serve as secretary/treasurer of the organization, which operates in tandem with the Alpha Lamda Delta honor society. Ryan is pursuing a minor in international business and plans to become a certified public accountant.

"I attended the 2010 Phi Eta Sigma national convention in Knoxville, Tenn., and learned about the society's mission to reward academic excellence, but I never thought it would happen to me," Ryan said. "I am truly honored and grateful. This scholarship will help relieve the financial burden of pursuing a higher education."

According to Dean of Students Brian Carlisle, who also serves as a faculty adviser to Phi Eta Sigma and Alpha Lamda Delta, Ryan has devoted countless hours to planning activities and events for the organization and balances her leadership role with other on-campus leadership positions, an off-campus job and rigorous academic course work.

"With more than 350 chapters and nearly 975,000 national members, competition for the undergraduate and graduate scholarships is fierce," Carlisle said. "Without question, Meghan is one of the most deserving recipients of this scholarship.

"I have no doubt that she will continue to be a positive role model and exemplary leader on our campus."

Phi Eta Sigma grants $300,000 in endowed scholarships or awards each year. It is the oldest and largest honor society for first year college students in all academic disciplines. Its goal is to encourage and reward academic excellence among freshmen in institutions of higher learning. Those elected to membership have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale at the end of any first-year, full-time curricular period; carry a normal academic load acceptable toward a bachelor's degree; and rank in the upper 20 percent of their classes.

Phi Eta Sigma was founded at the University of Illinois in 1923; in 1937 it earned membership into the Association of College Honor Societies. Currently Phi Eta Sigma has more than 300 chapters throughout the United States and more than 900,000 members.

For more information about National Phi Eta Sigma scholarship programs, visit the Phi Eta Sigma website.

Source: UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.