print header
News & Events
 SHARE   |  

October 25, 2010

Missling Inducted into UW-Whitewater Business Education National Hall of Fame

Jack HoggattDr. Lorraine Missling (1926-1995), an emerita faculty member in the UW-Eau Claire Department of Business Communication, was inducted posthumously into the UW-Whitewater Business Education National Hall of Fame, October 23, 2010. “Missle” as she was known to her friends and colleagues, possessed endless energy and devotion for her students and to her business education profession.

Dr. Lorraine Missling received her bachelor’s degree in business education from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, her master’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and her doctorate from the University of North Dakota. She taught business education in Wisconsin high schools at Randolph, Shawano, and Nicolet before joining the faculty of the new UW-Eau Claire business school in 1966. Missling was one of the twelve founding faculty members of the business school, and she was the school’s first female faculty member. She remained at UW-Eau Claire until her retirement in 1989 completing over forty years of teaching and mentoring students in business education.

Missling was active in the National Association for Business Teacher Education (NABTE) serving as secretary and later membership chair. As a member of the National Business Education Association, she was elected to the executive board for two terms and was a presenter at conventions in 1975, 1979, and 1983. She was also active in the Association for Career and Technical Education, a organization she joined in 1966.

She served as the Wisconsin Business Education Association in numerous capacities including editor, secretary, vice president and president. Missling brought the Beta Sigma Chapter of Delta Pi Epsilon to the UW-Eau Claire campus in 1973 and served as adviser to the organization until she retired from the university in 1989. She was a member of the Alpha Eta chapter at the UW-Madison where she served as secretary, vice president and president.

Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.