UW-Eau Claire Alumni

Honorary Alumnus Award
2014 Recipients

Dan Clumpner and Stuart Schaefer are both receiving Honorary Alumnus awards for their work as partners with the UW-Eau Claire Foundation and the university in the Confluence Project.

Dan Clumpner
Stuart Schaefer

Clumpner and Schaefer are principals with Commonweal Development, which, along with Blugold Real Estate and Market & Johnson, are partners in Haymarket Concepts LLC. The company is developing the Haymarket Landing mixed-use complex in downtown Eau Claire. The team also is the driving force behind the development of the Confluence arts center. Clumpner and Schaefer collectively are responsible for most of the major land developments in Eau Claire, including the 800-acre Oakwood Hills project that has Oakwood Mall as its centerpiece. In 2003 they each received the Small Business Person of the Year Award from the Eau Claire Chamber of Commerce.

Clumpner began his education at UW-Eau Claire in the 1960s and eventually transferred to North Dakota State University, where he received a bachelor's degree in civil engineering. He returned to Eau Claire and served as the vice president of Ayres Associates before moving into real estate development. Since then he has served concurrently as president of Keystone Corp. and Oakwood Business Park, and as founder and principal of Commonweal Development Corp. Clumpner has been a member of the Mayo Clinic Health System board in Eau Claire, member of the People's Bank of Wisconsin board and member of the board of Nova Molecular Technologies. He also is a past vice chair of the Eau Claire City Plan Commission, past chair of the Eau Claire Chamber of Commerce, past president and campaign chair of the United Way, and a past board member of the UW-Eau Claire Foundation.

Schaefer, a Madison native, is the president of Commonweal Development Corp. Previously, he was a real estate analyst with ConAgra Retail Cos. in Eau Claire and a broker/vice president for Business Brokers of America in Madison. Schaefer has a bachelor's degree from UW-Madison in agricultural engineering/construction administration and has been a licensed real estate broker since 1980. He also is a member of the International Council of Shopping Centers. Schaefer has served on various boards throughout his career, including the Eau Claire Area Economic Development Corp., where he acted as its president in 2009. He also is a member of the RCU board of directors. Schaefer has volunteered as a coach for youth hockey, soccer and basketball throughout the years.

View the list of past recipients of this award..